The Williamstown Sailing Club was formed in 1910, and the original clubhouse was built in 1921. Over the years a number of improvements have been made to offer some of the best facilities available to members on the bay.
The club offers members facilities including a twin concrete ramp for launching of trailer yachts and power boats. Other facilities include twin jetties for rigging, a rigging deck for off-the-beach boats, small-boat storage, swing moorings, slip facilities for maintenance of power craft and a canteen.
A number of club-owned Pacer dinghies are used for teaching beginners and to allow more experienced sailors to advance their skills.
The club’s 5.2 metre training yacht, the James Pearl, provides on-the-water experience each race day for small groups and is used in club training for those after larger boat experience and handling.
The club has three rescue boats that are used on racing days, to ensure a high standard of safety on the water.
Limited boat storage is available for ‘off-the-beach’ boats with preference given to boats which are raced regularly.
The upper-deck social area has bar facilities and magnificent views of Hobsons Bay and the Melbourne city skyline. Year round social events and after race BBQs are held on the upper deck. The function room can be booked by club members.